Crimpshrine – The Sound Of A New World Being Born


Before Green Day, Operation Ivy, and Lookout Records put the East Bay’s burgeoning punk scene on the map, a trio of Berkeley kids were reinventing the genre with music that was melodic but full of feedback, and a singer who sounded like he gargled glass. Crimpshrine’s debut EP was Lookout’s fourth release, followed by an album, a second EP, and a slew of split singles and compilation tracks before the band imploded in 1989 after a ridiculous two-and-a-half-month tour in a Ford Pinto hatchback. Formed around teenage binary stars Jeff Ott and Aaron Cometbus, Crimpshrine went through a series of lineups in their four-year run, utilizing future Tilt and Go Sailor bassists Pete Rypins and Paul Curran, and briefly including second guitarist Idon Bryant. Not overtly political, their fiery brand of introspective punk touched on homelessness, teenage pregnancy, drug use, friendship, isolation, and a grimy sort of romance.

Sound Of A New World Being Born compiles their two Lookout singles Sleep What’s That and Quit Talkin’ Claude E.P. with a handful of compilation and split 7″ tracks. In cooperation with the band, the 16-track album has been remeastered and freshened up the accompanying poster to make the perfect legacy edition of this ’80s punk classic.

Only 1 left in stock

SKU: MY459 Categories: , Tags: , ,



A1 – Another Day
A2 – Rearranged
A3 – Bricks
A4 – Sleep, What’s That?
A6 – Second Generation Junkies
A7 – In My Mind
A8 – Tomorrow
B1 – Butterflies
B2 – Situation
B3 – The Direction Of Things To Come…
B4 – Sanctuary
B5 – My Friend
B6 – The Tour
B7 – Easy Answers
B8 – Inspiration

Additional information

Weight 0.330 kg
Dimensions 33 × 33 × 1 cm

Subscribe to ’s newsletter, which will then be emailed to you.
Once you are subscribed to our newsletter, you will get the latest updates and features on the website.

The subscription is free. Please, fill out the form below.

We value and respect your privacy. Please read our Privacy Statement, which states our firm commitment to your privacy.
Your email address will not be sold or used for purposes other than subscription for the newsletter.